The Introduction

It’s all in the introduction.

Recently, I was hired as a tripping director for my school’s outdoors club. I want to live my life in the outdoors as much as possible, and I especially love introducing other people to this passion, and helping them find their own passion.

But, it didn’t seem real. Being a part of something so amazing, something that I loved so much, something that really made my first year. I couldn’t fathom my place as a leader in the program, one of only three frosh hired.

That all changed tonight. At the meeting, the new exec had to introduce themselves. And, with that introduction, I felt myself become a part of something. I am a trip leader, I will be part of this for the rest of my time at Queens. That is so exciting, and so amazing.

My introduction was by no means amazing. Just my name and year. Yet, it felt like so much more. I’ve never felt so changed and simultaneously prepared in a moment.

The introduction makes things real.

 

Leave a Reply

